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MODULE 2 - NEwW ROLES

o W

< | You must move the Pirate Citizen to a city of
@ your choice placing it onto its flag.
C You get 2 units of the bonus (Wood, Reals or
Bread) depicted on the City where you took

the Pirate Citizen from or on the City where you moved
it to. REMINDER: To get Wood, you need to have access to it.

—] You may swap one of your Workers in the
f& Cities with a Worker of any other players or
f 7| with a Neutral Citizen. They don’t need to be
in the same City.

—] You choose any 2 of your Workers in the Cities
'li _ | and lay them down. These Workers are not
w’ | active anymore (i.e. they cannot be swapped,
they are not affected by the Pirate Citizen, and
they don’t need to be fed).
You will reactivate them (by standing them up) if you
use them in the Cities in the same round OR at the end
of Phase D.

& | Youmust move the Pirate Ship to any Colony
& or Market of your choice. You get 1 Good as
T depicted on the landing location.

Perform the action depicted on the A King’s
Reward that is placed on the AB Card.

Perform the action depicted on the B King’s
B Reward that is placed on the AB Card.

GUILD MASTER

CHANGE TO THE CHARACTER ACTION: If the Guild
Favor you are taking is face-down (i.e. if it is in the
column that costs 2 Wood or in the column that costs 3
Wood), you place it in front of you face-down.

: Take one Dark Guild tile from the General
G!”- ‘ Supply. NOTE: At the beginning of your turn,
—— | youmay discard 1 (and only 1) Dark Guild
tile to use 1 of your face-down Guild Favors,
instead of a face-up one.

it will remain face-down).

As per the normal rules, you still can use only 1 Guild
Favor per turn so, if you have used 1 face-down Guild
Favor, in this turn you cannot use a face-up one, and
vice-versa.

(including the one you just took if it was face-

5 You may flip face-up one of your Guild Favors
down).

5 After having performed the Character action,
/| you take 3 City Bonuses according to where
the Neutral Citizens are.

EXAMPLE: there are 2 Neutral Citizens in Machico and 1
in Funchal. You get 2 Wood and 1 Real.
REMINDER: To get Wood, you need to have access to it.

O

Take one Protection tile from the supply.
NoTE: In PHASE C you may discard this tile

to not get Pirates when you don’t pay for the
Building Action, and in PHASE D, during
maintenance, you may discard this tile to protect yourself
from either the Pirate Citizen or the Pirate Ship.

é Move your Windmill marker one step up.

Perform the topmost action of the Building
the Steward is currently associated with
(regardless of how many Workers you have in
the corresponding Region).

Example: The Steward is on the Moinho (Mill). You have no
Workers in Region 2. You receive 2 Bread.

The used face-down Guild Favor won't be flipped up (i.e.

Discard Pirates up to as many Workers you have
in the region where the Harverster is currently
located.

choose 1 Field you just harvested, and harvest

‘Jj Perform a Harvest as per the usual rules, then
W i again.

Wine) to receive any 1 Good from the general
supply. You may do this up to 3 times.

% You may discard any 1 Good (Wheat, Sugar, or

Ref.2



MODULE 3 - CAPITANIAS

GROUP 1 (CARDS THAT REQUIRE WORKERS IN REGION 1)

MACHICO FEITORIA

If, during Phase B and/or C,
you move Ships to the Market,
and you have at least 1 Worker
3 : in Region 1, for each Ship you
just moved there, you may discard any type of Goods
instead of the indicated one.

resolved, you have at least 3
Workers in Region 1, you may
perform the top or the bottom action of the Building
that was just resolved by paying 3 or S Reals.

You don’t have to pay the cost due to the GuILD DICE,

o st b A S et
don’t need to have your Action Marker in the Building. ¢

You may even do this if the Building was just skipped
because it had no Action Markers on it.

If, during Phase B, you perform
a Harvest Action, and you have
at least 2 Workers in Region

NoreE: If you do have Workers in Region 3 and an Action
1, you may (before or after the

Marker on the Building, you have the opportunity to

perform the Action Building twice in the same round: Harvest) move any 1 Worker to any Field, following the
usual rules.

once as usual when the Building is resolved, and then
immediately afterwards using the card.

EXAMPLE: O NAVEGADOR

Purple has 3 Workers in Region 1 and 1 Worker in Region
If, during Phase B and/or

3.
It is Phase C, and the Building Casa da Coroa (Guild Palace) G you-move I e s
Colonies, and you have at

is being resolved. She has no Action Marker there. . ;
least 2 Workers in Region 1,

Pmle pays 3 Re‘.ﬂs and performs the s Casa da Coroa for each Ship you just moved there, you may perform 2
Action. So, she can flip face-up 1 of her Guild Favors. King’s Rewards actions instead of the usual 1.

After that, the Fortaleza (Watch Tower) is being resolved. One of the 2 King’s Rewards must be in the Colony you
She has one of her Action Marker there, and 1 Worker in just moved your Ship to; the other one may be any King’s
Region 3. The cost of the Building (due to the rolled Guild Reward (in the same or in a different Colony).

Dice) is 4.

When the Building is resolved she pays 4 Reals and performs
the top Fortaleza Action. She may move up to 1 of her
Workers into the City Watch.

' If, during Phase D - Upkeep,
you have at least 3 Workers in
Region 1, you don’t have to i
discard Wood for your Ships on |
the Board.

Also, you may move 1 of your Ships to an empty Colony
or Market slot, following the usual rules.

After the Building has being resolved, she pays S Reals, and
she performs the bottom Fortaleza Action. She may move up
to 2 of her Workers into the City Watch.

Ref.3



MODULE 3 - CAPITANIAS

GROUP 2 (CARDS THAT REQUIRE WORKERS IN REGION 2)

If, during Phase B you move
b ssasnss | a Ship, and you have at least 1
e % il ' . Worker in Region 2, you may

- ~ 1 place the Ship on this card
instead of on the Board.

You discard any 3 Goods, you gain 7 Reals, and you may
perform 1 action of any of the King’s Rewards in the
Colonies.

You don’t have to pay Wood if you move the Ship to the
card from your Home Supply, and you don’t have to pay
Wood for Maintenance in Phase D for it.

- Ifyou played the card in round 1, 3, or S, and during
Phase E you choose to score an Expeditions Crown’s
Request or a Market Routes Crown’s Request, if you
have 1 Worker in Region 2 the Ship on the card
counts toward the limit of Ships that will earn you
PP, and earns you S PP.

- Ifyou played the card in round 2, or 4, and you have a
ship on it, you may keep the card with the Ship in front
of you until Phase E of the following round will be
resolved.

NoTE: this is an exception to the main rule that you
always have only one card in front of you. In this case, if
you keep the card, you will have 2 cards in round 3, or S.

- You cannot keep the card for more than one additional
round (i.e. you can only keep it until the end of round 3
if you played in round 2, and until the end of round 5 if
you played in round 4).

- Youneed to have 1 Worker in Region 2 in Phase E of the
round in order to score the Ship on the card.

- When you discard the card, the Ship will be placed back
in your Home Supply.

Ref.4

If, during Phase B, you
perform a Harvest Action in
Region 1, and you have at least
2 Workers in Region 2, you
also gain 7 Reals.

If, during Phase B, you perform
a Harvest Action, and you have |
at least 2 Workers in Region
2, you also Harvest 1 Field an
extra time, and you move your marker 1 step up in the
Windmill.

o

If, during Phase B, you perform
a Guild Master Action, and
you have at least 3 Workers in
Region 2, you may discard any |
2 Goods instead of the Wood depicted on the top of the
selected District.

BURGUESIA

If, during Phase B, you perform
w the Mayor Action, and you have
| atleast 3 Workers in Region 2,
this counts as a virtual Worker in ¥
a City of your choice.

That means that you can choose if it will get you 2 Bread, or
2 Reals, or 2 Wood (if you have access to it).

If, during Phase E, you choose to score an Urbanization
Crown’s Request, and you have 3 Workers in Region 2,
this counts as a virtual Worker in 1 City of your choice.

In case of a tie with another player(s) determined by the
“virtual” Worker, both you and the other player(s) are
considered the one with the most Workers.

In case of a tie with the Neutral Citizens determined by the
“virtual” Worker, you break the tie following the usual rules
(i.e. the one with the rightmost Worker/Citizen wins the
tie).




MODULE 3 - CAPITANIAS

GROUP 3 (CARDS THAT REQUIRE WORKERS IN REGION 3)

If, during Phase B, you decide
to use a PIRATE DIE, and you
have at least 3 Workers in

: Region 3, you may place the
die on this card instead of on the Board.

The die may be moved from the City Watch, or from any
Character. If you move it from the City Watch you must
remove a Worker from there, as usual.

You then may perform a Building Action of your
choice. You perform it, as usual, according to the number
of Workers you have in that Region.

In Phase C, if you have at least 3 Workers in Region 3,
the value of PIRATE DIE on the card counts as a personal
discount for all the Building Actions where you have an
Action Marker.

EXAMPLE: 4-player game.

The Casa da Coroa Building is being resolved.
Red has an Action Marker there.

She has a value 2 Pirate die on the card.

The rolled dice are: a value 1 Guild die, a value 2 Guild die, a
value 2 Guild die, and a value 1 Pirate die.

The Pirate die on the card counts as a personal discount, so in

order to perform the Building Action, Red must pay 3 Reals:
10 less S for the rolled Guild dice (1+2+2) less a further 2 for
the Pirate die on her card.

You receive 1, 2, or 3 Pirates according to the value of the die.

CORSARIO

In Phase A, immediately

| | after you play this card, you
& may take a PIRATE DIE from
& QDQ — I the City Watch (removing a
Worker from there, as usual) and place it on the card.
You don’t need to meet the requirement of Workers
during this Phase.

You receive 1, 2, or 3 Pirates according to the value of the die.

EXAMPLE: In Phase A, Blue take a value 3 Pirate die from the
City Watch and places it on the card. He receives 3 Pirates.

In Phase B, if you have at least 3 Workers in Region 3,
you may use the PIRATE DIE as usual (moving it from the
card to a Character).

In Phase C, if you have at least 3 Workers in Region 3, the
value of any PIRATE DIE in the Buildings where you have an
Action Marker, counts as a personal discount.

EXAMPLE: 4-player game
The Alfandega Building is being resolved. Blue has an Action
Marker there.

The rolled dice are: a value 3 Guild die, a value 1 Guild die, and
a value 3 Pirate die.

The Pirate die counts as a personal discount, so in order to
perform the Building Action, Blue must pay 3 Reals: 10 less

4 for the rolled Guild dice (1+3) -less a further 3 for the rolled
Pirate die.

TR =
D.JoAo II :

If, during Phase B, you have
at least 2 Workers in Region
3, you may place 1 of your

: GuiLp pick together with the
Action Marker on this card instead of on the board.

You immediately discard 2 Pirates.

In Phase C, if you have at least 2 Workers in Region 3,
you have a virtual Action Marker in all the Buildings (i.e.
you may perform all S Building Actions, as long as you
pay and you have Workers in the Region).

If you have at least 2 Workers in Region 3, the value of
the GuILD DIE on the card, counts as a personal discount
for all the Building Actions.

If, during Phase C, after each ||}
Building in Region 2 is : l
resolved, you have at least 2
Workers in Region 3, you may
perform the top or the bottom action of the Building
that was just resolved by paying 2 or 4 Reals.

You don’t have to pay the cost due to the GuiLD DICE,
you don’t need to have any Workers in Region 2, and you
don’t need to have your Action Marker in the Building.
(See Machico on page Ref. 3 for a similar example.)

If, when you Pass, you have at
least 1 Worker in Region 3,
you may flip face-up one of
your Guild Favors.




MODULE 3 - CAPITANIAS

GROUP 4 (CARDS THAT REQUIRE WORKERS IN REGIONS 1,2, AND 3)

o W

- If, during Phase B or C, you

In Phase C, if you have at least

move a Ship, and you have at 2 Workers in each Region, you

least 1 Worker in each Region, may perform both the top and

you discard up to 2 Pirates if you the bottom Building Action in
moved the Ship from the Board, or up to 4 Pirates if you each Building where you have an Action Marker. You pay
moved it from your Home (paying the Wood). the cost as usual. You just need the 2 Workers required by

the card, you don’t need to have more.

INFLUENCIA CONVITE

If, when you Pass, you have at

If in Phase A, immediately after
you play this card, you have at

least 1 Worker in each Region,

least 1 Worker in each Region, in addition to the usual Passing

, before moving your Turn Order
Marker, you may select any Passing bonus and either get Passing bonus and either get the depicted Reals or perform
the depicted Reals or perform the depicted Passing Action. the depicted Passing Action.

bonus, you may select any other |

In Phase B, if you have at least 2 Workers in each Region, when you place a GUILD DIE on a
Character tile, you may perform both the Character Action and the Harvest.

MobDULE 3 - CAPITANIAS

GROUP 5 (CARDS THAT REQUIRE WORKERS IN THE COLONIES)

| InPhase D - Income, you get
2 Bread for each Worker you

In Phase D - Income, you get

1 Good of your choice for each

have in the Colonies (same or Worker you have in the Colonies
: different). = = 0= " | (same or different).

Also, you may discard 1, 3, or 6 Pirates if you have at ' Also, you may discard 1, 3, or 6 Pirates if you have at

least 1 Worker in 1, 2, or 3 different Colonies. least 1 Worker in 1, 2, or 3 different Colonies.

PAU-BRASIL SANGUE DE DRAGAO

In Phase D - Income, you get | InPhaseD - Income, you get
2 Wood for each Worker you | 2 Reals for each Worker you
have in the Colonies (same or have in the Colonies (same or

different). =~ | different).

NoTE: you don’t need to have Also, you may discard 1, 3, or 6 Pirates if you have at least 1
access to the Wood to get it. You just take it from the Worker in 1, 2, or 3 different Colonies.
General Supply.

Also, you may discard 1, 3, or 6 Pirates if you have at least 1
Worker in 1, 2, or 3 different Colonies.

Ref.6



MODULE 4 - KING’S DEMANDS
WEALTH OF THE NATION

Pay 16 Reals, and earn 8 PP for each Colony
in which you have the most Workers, or win
the tie

Earn S PP for each Colony in which you
have at least 1 Worker, but don’t have the
most Workers, or lose the tie.

DOOVOOOOOVOVOOVOOVOIOIOOIOOOOVOOOOOOODOIOOOVIOOODOOOOOOOOOOOOOOIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVOIO
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Pay 12 Reals, and earn 9 PP for each
Region where you have at least 3 Workers.

BOOOOOOOBOOOOOOOOIOIOOBOOOOOOOOOOIOOOOOIBIBOOBOBOOOOOOOOOOOCOBOOBOOOOOOOOOOOOOBD

S

e

Pay 16 Reals and 3 Bread, and earn 18 PP.

DOVVVOIOVOOVOOOOOOVOOOOOVIOIOOOVOIOOOOOOOOODOOIODOODOIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODOIOOOOOOOOOOO

©, !

BOOBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOBIOOOOOOOOOOOOOBIOOOBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOIOOOOODOOIOOOOOOOOOOOD

®
@&

Pay 15 Reals, and earn 6PP each for up to

3 locations where you have at least one of
your Ships.

The possible locations are:

Acores, Brasil, India, Wheat Market,

Sugar Market, Wine Market (and the card
Calecute if you are playing with Module 3).

Pay 18 Reals, and earn 3 PP times your
level in the Windmill.

Pay 13 Reals, and earn 2 PP for each location
where you have at least one of your Workers.
The possible locations are 12:

3 Regions, 3 Cities, 3 Colonies, the Forest
field, the City Watch, and your Home supply.

o movees

e,

Par | [ Ba

RO,

2 %( 2 [

Earn PP for up to 3 of your Ships in the Markets as per
the base game rules. Exception: You cannot select Ships
in the depicted Market. In addition or in alternative,
earn S PP if you discard 2 Goods of the indicated type.

EXAMPLE:

Red has 1 Ship in the Wheat Market, and 2
in the Sugar Market.

She has this Crown’s Request, so she cannot
select her Ship in the Wheat Market.

Is the 1st round, so she earns 12 PP (6 per Ship in the

Sugar Market).

She also discards 2 Wheat, so she earns additional S PP.

OOV OOVOVOOOIOOOOIOOOVOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOIOOOOOIOOOOOOOOOIOVIOOOOOVOIOOOOOOOOOOOD

Earn PP for up to 3 of your Ships in the
Markets as per the base game rules.

In addition or in alternative, earn S PP if
you discard 4 Wood.

e

g
GYme

EXAMPLE:

Blue selects 2 of his Ships in the Market.

He earns 9 PP for his Ship in the Wheat
Market (3 PP for each of the 3 goods
depicted below the slot) and 12 PP for his Ship in the
Sugar Market (3 PP for each of the 4 goods depicted
below the slot).

In the moment you take this tile (Initial
Preparation or Phase A), you immediately
receive 7 Pirates.

In Phase E, earn PP for up to 3 of your
Ships in the Markets as per the base game
rules, plus 2 PP for each Ship.

BOOBOBOOOOOOOBOOOOBOOOOBOOOOOOOBOOOOIBPOOOOOOOOOOO

Select up to 2 of your Ships in the Markets
(same or different).

You earn PP according to the slot where
your Ships are placed: For each Ship, you
earn 3 PP for each Good depicted below
the slot.

=

sl
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MODULE 4 - KING’S DEMANDS
EXPEDITIONS

In the moment you take this tile (Initial

-« Acores . Brasil India

% Q & Q & e @ W Preparation or Phase A), you immediately

& S = , receive 7 Pirates.

2 £® 2 !l@) 2 li@ In Phase E, earn PP for up to 3 of your

T ships in the Colonies as per the base game

Earn PP for up to 3 of your ships in the Colonies as per rules, plus 2 PP for each Ship.
the base game rules. Exception: You cannot select Ships
in the depicted Colony. In addition or in alternative, earn

DOOIVOCOOOOOOOOOOOOOVOIOOIVOOOOOOVOOOOOODOIOOOVOOIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOIOIODOOOOOOOOOOOD

S PP if you discard any 2 Goods (same or different). Select up to 3 of your Ships in different
o Colonies.
BOCOOOOOBODOOIOIOIODIOOOOOOHOIODIOIOIOIIOOOIOHOIOOIOIOHIOIOOOIOHOIONIOOIIOIIODOD “}ka S according e
Earn PP for up to 3 of your ships in the @ - your Ships are placed: For each Ship, you
Colonies as per the base game rules. FE earn 3 PP for each Wine depicted above
In addition or in alternative, earn S PP if the slot.
you discard 4 Wood.

INFLUENCE OF THE GUILDS

Select up to S of your face-up Guild
Favors (same or different). Discard 1
Wood per each selected Guild Favor, and
earn 4 PP for each of them.

SOOOOOBOOOOIOOOOOOOGOOOBOOOGOOOBOBOOBOOOOBOOIBIOOOOOBOOOOOOOBOOOOOOOOOBOOOOOOOD

Select up to 4 of your face-up Guild Favors of the depicted
Guilds (same or different). Earn S PP for each selected
Guild Favor.

Select up to 3 of your face-up Guild
Favors of different Guilds. Discard any 1
Good per each selected Guild Favor, and
earn 7 PP for each of them.

URBANIZATION

— — Select up to 2 Cities in which you have most

Workers, or win the tie, and earn the highest

@ @ @ .. H number of PP depicted at their side.
@ 6?@ . Ties break as usual.

NoTE: You do not earn any PP if you don’t
have the most Workers, or lose the tie .

Earn the highest depicted number of PP if you have the
most Workers, or win the tie in the depicted City.

QOVOOOIOOVOOOOOVOOOIVOIOICVOOOOIOOOOOOOOVOIOOOOOIOOOVOOOOOOOOIOOIVIIOIODOOOOOOOOOOOD

Ties break as usual.
Earn the lower depicted number of PP if you have at ;
+ ® » .
least 1 Worker in the depicted City but don’t have the Se,'lect up to 6 of your Workers in the Cities.
: q\\ Discard any 1 Good for each selected
most Workers, or lose the tie. @
Worker, and earn 4 PP for each of them.

For each City in which you have at least
2 Workers, earn the lower number of PP
depicted at the side of that City.




